

SEVEN AVIATION AND AEROSPACE PROJECTS AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS TO COMPETE FOR THE 2014 ROBERT J. COLLIER TROPHY

Contact: Stephanie Berry 703-416-4888 ext 104

Washington, DC, February 3, 2015 -- The National Aeronautic Association today announced that seven aviation and aerospace projects will compete for the 2014 Robert J. Collier Trophy.

For 103 years the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aviation and aerospace achievement. Awarded annually "...for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America," it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals, and accomplishments in our history. Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry, and Howard Hughes. Projects and programs which have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Polaris Missile, the Surveyor Moon Landing Program, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the Gulfstream V, the F-22, and the International Space Station. The 2013 Collier was awarded to the Northrop Grumman, the U.S. Navy, and the X-47B Industry Team for developing and demonstrating the first unmanned autonomous air system operating from an aircraft carrier.

The nominees this year are:

- Alan Eustace and the StratEx Team
- Embraer Legacy 500
- F-16 Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance Team
- General Aviation Joint Steering Committee
- Gulfstream G650
- Orion Exploration Flight Test-1
- Orion UAS Team

Led by NAA Chairman Jim Albaugh, the Selection Committee will consist of leaders representing organizations throughout aviation and aerospace. Included on the Committee are two former recipients of the Collier Trophy:

Larry James – NASA/JPL Mars Curiosity Rover (2012) Carl Johnson – Northrop Grumman X47-B (2013)

The Selection Committee also includes:

Richard Aboulafia, The Teal Group

Ali Bahrami, AIA

David Bailoff, Embraer

Andrew Broom, Honda Aircraft Company

Steve Callaghan, NAA Awards And Events Committee

Steve Champness, Aero Club of Metropolitan Atlanta

Brian Chase, Textron

Dave Coleal, Spirit AeroSystems

Barry Eccleston, Airbus Group

Dave Franson, Wichita Aero Club

Randy Greene, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation

T.C. Jones, Northrop Grumman

Tim Keating, The Boeing Company

Leo Knaapen, Bombardier Aerospace

Joe Lombardo, General Dynamics

Dr. Sandy Magnus, AIAA

Dave Manke, United Technologies/Pratt & Whitney

Mary Miller, Signature Flight Support

Stan O'Connor, GE Aviation

Ken Panos, AeroJet Rocketdyne

Steve Plummer, Rolls-Royce North America

Skip Ringo, The Ringo Group

Bob Rubino, Lockheed Martin

Laurie Sussman, Rockwell Collins

John Tylko, Aurora Flight Sciences

Mark Van Tine, Jeppessen

Jonathan Gaffney, President and CEO of NAA, will serve as the Director of the process and is a non-voting member of the Committee.

The Selection Committee will meet on Wednesday, March 11th, in Arlington, Virginia, and the winner will be announced that evening at the <u>NAA Spring Awards Dinner</u> to be held at the Crystal Gateway Marriott.

The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place at a later date at the Collier Dinner in Arlington, Virginia. More information can be found at www.naa.aero.

The National Aeronautic Association is a non-profit, membership organization devoted to fostering America's aerospace leadership and promoting public understanding of the importance of aviation and space flight to the United States.